There are four Harrisburg City Council seats open for election in 2013. The open seats are President Wanda Williams, Vice President Eugenia Smith, Kelly Summerford, and newly appointed Bruce Weber. Weber has already publicly announced he will not seek election to continue on Council.

Of the three incumbent Councilors, not one has yet made an official announcement of running, however, it is generally assumed Williams, Smith, and Summerford will all campaign for another term. Summerford and Smith were both first elected in 2010, and Williams has been on City Council since 2004.

Today, the first official announcement was made—Ben Allatt will run for City Council, a decision he made public during the Capital Region Stonewall Democrats fundraiser “Raise Your Glass” at The LGBT Center of Central PA on Sunday, January 20th. He has not previously held an elected position in the City of Harrisburg.

See Ben Allatt for City Council website here.

To see the Dauphin County Bureau of Elections timetable up to the Primary Election on May 21st, see Roxbury News “2013 Election: Important Dates.” For those seeking office, petitions can be circulated between February 19th and March 12th.

For general information about running for office, see here.